What You Need to Know About Car Accidents in Texas

GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION

Car accidents are a fear for everyone who gets behind the wheel. Being injured in a car accident that was no fault of your own can turn this fear into a nightmare. Knowing your options and preparing for potential steps can make a huge difference in a heartbreaking experience such as this. 

The Most Common Causes of Car Accidents in Texas

There are a variety of factors that can lead to a car accident. In Texas, the most common causes of car accidents include speeding, tailgating, reckless driving, texting while driving, driving while tired, illegal U-turns, driving under the influence, poor road or weather conditions, and careless lane changes. 

Car Accidents: What to Do After

Directly following a car accident it is important to call the police and immediately get them on the scene. This will ensure the road is safely monitored and any potential traffic is being redirected. This step will also provide any necessary emergency vehicles to arrive on the scene such as ambulances for injuries.

Next, you will take any necessary pictures of the scene including damaged vehicles or property. Be sure to exchange information with the negligent party, most important being their insurance information. If there are any witnesses to the accident, document their information in order to further support your future claim. Once your injuries have been taken care of, it is important to obtain all medical documentation regarding your visit and concerning any injuries sustained from the accident. 

Finally, be sure to contact an experienced Texas personal injury attorney to ensure you are provided with the compensation you deserve. 

Personal Injury Protection in Texas after Car Accidents

PIP or Personal Injury Protection is offered to drivers in the state of Texas. PIP covers medical expenses, 80% of your lost income, and certain reasonable household duties. It is not required by Texas drivers to purchase PIP. Those who do must carry at least $2,500.

What is the statute of limitations for auto accident claims in the state of Texas?

The statute of limitations for car accident personal injury claims in Texas is two years. From the date of your accident, you will have two years to create your claim. You will likely be barred from suing if you fail to create your claim within this time period. Begin this process today by reaching out to our personal injury attorney. 

CONTACT A DALLAS, TX CAR ACCIDENT ATTORNEY

If you have been seriously injured in a car accident, you may be suffering from significant physical, emotional, and financial burdens that are impacting your life in a major way. If you are considering taking legal action against the party that caused your injuries, you can trust the skilled legal team at Brock & Goetzmann to effectively represent your interests. With over 50 years of combined experience, Attorneys Brock and Goetzmann have the skill and knowledge needed to effectively represent your interests. To discuss your situation with a legal team you can trust, contact Brock & Goetzmann today.

 
GET YOUR FREE CONSULTATION
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

RECENT BLOGS

 
To learn the most common issues caused by defective infusion pumps, the steps you should take after being injured by a defective medical device, and what you should know about the Medtronic Synchromed II recall, continue reading. Reach out to...
READ MORE
 
If a hip replacement fails, this can cause severe pain and emotional distress for a patient. If you have received a metal-on-metal hip replacement and have suffered injuries from the replacement system, you may be eligible to recover compensation by...
READ MORE